The midweek words of wisdom

As it happens I am considering making the “Midweek words of wisdom” an editorial which hopefully will come regularly every week in its middle. Sounds reasonable, doesn’t it? I’ve always dreamed to lead such a column and having a blog looks just as the right place.

 

Last Sunday we didn’t have a board game session because we were a man short as Evgeni was not in town and I’ve didn’t make the effort to organize the rest, and as I needed a break and have decided to spend this couple of hours in a walk outside with Desi, my girlfriend.

 

As about gaming – last weekend was full of it. If you’ve read Games, which bring memories – Part 1, you’ve seen I’ve spent couple of hours with the open and free version of Transport tycoon which happened to generate the urge to write that article. I hope it was a good read for you and I am pleased to tell you that it will continue with couple of more follow ups which will come in the next days. And in between I’ve played extensively Call Of Duty: Black Ops 2, as Steam offered a free multiplayer weekend and 40% discount of the game.

 
 

cod

 

Well, it was both a very surprisingly wonderful and interesting experience for me. I was a huge fan of the first two installments of the franchise back in the days and loved the fourth game in the series, namely Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare. Since those days I barely have tried any of the other games of the series as they felt pretty generic to me and I’ve never tried the multiplayer part of them. In the mean time I have bought Battlefield: Bad Company 2 and found it pretty cool, beside the punkkiller app, which although I was not using any cheats kicked me constantly to the lobby menu and eventually turned me off the game. However I really liked the concept of the franchise and the destruction of pretty much everything and somehow Call of duty looked like a “baby” compared to it. Some may call is a blasphemy I know. But these COD vs Battlefield and PS3 vs XBOX wars are so overdone that I wouldn’t dare to continue in that direction.

 

I would like to thank Steam, really. As somehow I managed to spend some good 10 hours with COD and man I loved every minute of it. May be it was the 1st first person shooter in years which got my attention for so long. Action was unbelievably fast paced and adrenaline rushing. Somehow it felt like the old Quake 2 and Quake 3 multiplayer sessions I’ve played back years ago. The visuals, the variety of game modes, perks and leveling system just got me hooked and I never thought it could happen with such a game. Some of the games I’ve played along with Anton, some of them – he was in the opposite team and I dare to say we had a lot of fun. We’ve managed to get almost to level 40 (out of 55) and I’ve got 2 very good tuned and upgraded assault rifles. And I also dare to say I did pretty good as the majority of the games I’ve ended in the first half of the team for score and kill:death ratio. Pretty good I must say for a person, who haven’t played extensively any first person shooters in years. At the end it seems I fell in love with the game. A colleague from work told me that it is actually worse than Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and 3 and Call of Duty: Black Ops (1) but I can’t compare so I still think it was pretty much wonderful. The bad thing about it, as every other COD game, that it costs a small fortune. Right now I really can’t afford to pay some good € 60 to get it off Steam, or about 50 – from local retailers. I really couldn’t care less for its single player part and am ready to pay up to 15 for the multiplayer. Priorities, I know, and you can call me cheap. But I found it to be bit over pricey. By the way – if you share my thoughts and still you are eager to try it out, the cheapest I’ve found is at MMOGA – just about € 38 and it is still a Steam key. Before you think it is some bad, pirate or rogue site, I should tell you that I’ve bought off them already couple of digital games and PSN vouchers and after an one time phone verification they send in matter of seconds after purchase. So have this site in mind if you want to save yourself some bucks.

 banner
 

I haven’t mentioned but couple of weeks ago I’ve seen this indy title in Steam – The Banner Saga: Factions. It has a pretty nice hand-animated art style and looks just the game I am looking for to fulfill my board game abstinence from Descent until I wait for Chaos Chronicles. If you are interested – give it a try, it is totally free. Now I am considering playing for an hour before sleep and would share with you how I find it. So, have a very good night, peeps.

This entry was posted in Various and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The midweek words of wisdom

  1. Camo Coffey says:

    Hi Val!

    Banner Saga looks like it could be entertaining; the artwork looks good if nothing else. I’m rubbish at RTS games, and will rarely will be online but if I am, give me a shout. My Steam account is “camocoffey”.

    Camo

    • Longbraz says:

      Hey Camo,

      Welcome aboard! 🙂

      It seems Banner Saga is for now only multiplayer enabled, but I read the singleplayer and campaign are coming. Added in Steam btw. I saw you play also left 4 dead 2 – me, Dali and Dum got it also. It would be fun to go for a 4 men coop sometime! 🙂

Leave a Reply

