Games, which bring memories 2

Howdy guys? A new day and a new part of the article, I hope you enjoyed the first one and may be you recognized a favourite game there.

 

As today I managed to get in front of the PC earlier I hope I will cover more games, because trust me – my list of worth-mentioning games is long. So, shall we begin?

 

Counter strike

cs

 

Who doesn’t know it and are even out there any gamers who haven’t played it? Even some of my friends which are not first person shooter’s fans have spent countless of hours with it. And what’s so special for me?

 

Well I feel that game very personal. Counter strike was the first title which organized me and my mates into clans. I still remember us, the [Hell Brothers] or simply [HB] battling against the other teens in my neighbourhood. Battles were so intense that at the end everything went down to prestige, honour and even some in real life physical contact threats and minor slap fights. So – yes – adrenaline was not only pumping in front of the PCs but right after the virtual battle. A lucky kill here, an unexpected headshot there – and there we are, ready for fist fights. It seems anger management was not our strongest teenage trait and nice that nothing seriously emerged from this.

 

Counter strike was also the game which gained me some prestige in the early years in my friendship with Marin, Radostin and Evgeni. They, just like me by that time, were pretty hooked and although Evgeni already owned a PC, he was forced to play with the rest and to spend his pocket money (given for a breakfast at school) at the Internet cafés. They’ve already had their clan [The Sect] or [TS] and being excepted into it felt great. Because of their recognition. Ah, building a friendship with them is not an easy task – back than I didn’t have the funds to spend for their pleasure, I could not buy food for them, actually – I couldn’t bribe them as Evgeni could afford to. So getting into [The Sect] with just playing skills was an effort which was worth the cause.

 

And here we are today – again all together and still playing. We’ve even had a night long LAN party last year and most of the time was well spent playing mostly Counter strike and some Quake 3. And as bad we turned to be playing the game today it is still so much fun to go for the headshot or the knife fight. Or simply staying one on one against Rado for example (as he is the best and mostexperienced first person shooter expert from our companionship). Well, hopefully some day in the near future we will redo the LAN party for more fun and laughs.

 

Starcraft

Starcraft_SC1_Cover1

 

Oh, Blizzard – to hell with you! The game I spent the most money for at the Internet cafés. In fact so much, that if I was clever enough to stop playing it and just put the money aside for every hour paid, I could buy my very own PC couple of years earlier.

 

I must admit – I love this game, but this love goes only for the multiplayer part. Why? Not because the single player was  bad, but because I didn’t have the time for it. Now thinking about this I should tell you that I only know about its lore and story from the books associated with the game I’ve read and the cinematics I’ve watched. By the time, me and a school mate didn’t have the urge to play it for its campaign missions. Just pure 1:1 madness – training new strategies and experimenting with the races (as far as I remember I was mostly playing with the Protos).

 

One day we’ve heard that the biggest Internet café club is organizing a tournament with some huge prices for a small buy in. The rules – playing on a map which they chose in the last moment in 2vs2 matches in 4 team groups from which the first 2 qualify for the 1/32-finals. As we had couple of weeks ahead of us, we have spent even more time and practiced hard.

 

Hard, but as it seemed – not hard enough as we’ve lost 3 of 3 rounds and were placed last in our group. Well, I still think that we were not that bad. With first opposing team we were just equal and no one was perished from the map. Although it was not in the rules for the tournament and sponsors didn’t allow us a replay, they checked some scores and proclaimed us as the losing team. Second team (and actual winner of the tournament) just went through us and annihilated us in a matter of couple of minutes. We didn’t stand any chance. And as we were already knowing we do not have a possibility to qualify for the 1/32 finals we’ve rushed our final opponents in a pretty poor attempt to catch them unaware but eventually we’ve lost.

 

So my only try at playing “professionally” ended. Now, more than 10 years later, I haven’t touched Starcraft for years. I even haven’t tried its successor – Starcraft 2. And for some reason it doesn’t seem appealing. But Starcraft will always remain in my memories.

 

Betrayal at Krondor

betrayal-at-krondor-cover

 

This game was one of my first RPG experiences. From today’s standards it seems that it has aged pretty badly, but it is still remembered for its nice gameplay, system and story.

 

But do be honest with you, I don’t remember a thing from the story. Because I simply didn’t play it for it. Sounds strange for any RPG player, but by the time I was sucked in it, I was extensively learning German and my English knowledge was pretty poor. So, I’ve just started the game and was exploring the world where possible in its first act, just battling around and collecting loot. In fact I’ve went through so much battles that at the end there was not a single enemy which could stop me. And mind it, I didn’t do it on purpose. I was really eager to continue with the game, but I just didn’t understand and know what to do next. And somehow this didn’t stop me from enjoying every single minute spent with Betrayal at Krondor.

 

Couple of days ago, when I’ve decided to write this article and played some Transport tycoon, I’ve checked if this game is even possible to be found and played at all, as it is quite old – released back in 1993. To my delight I found it on GOG.com. For $ 5.99 you can get both Betrayal at Krondor and Betrayal in Antara. To be honest I didn’t know a thing about the second title but from checking the Internet it seems it is its spiritual successor. Reading from the comments, though old, seems it is average at best and having some game braking bugs, which might be already fixed but if you are intrigued to try it out, have this in mind.

 

I am personally very eager to give Betrayal at Krondor a shot and this time I know I will get and understand its story. If you haven’t played it yet and happen to be a Raymond E. Feist fan, I advise you to consider the purchase. The game itself is the reason Krondor: The Betrayal to be written.

 

Need for Speed: Underground 2

NFS U2

(… it is not Terra Patrick!)

 

Need for Speed: Underground 2 is probably the NFS game I’ve spent most hours with. Need for Speed: Underground 2 is actually the game, which several years after Wolfenstein 3D and Transport tycoon made me and my father to tangle for who is playing for the next couple of hours, whose car is better – his beastly Peugeot 206 or my alien Audi A3.

 

As we were playing on different save files we’ve just compared racing times, gave advised to each other and even asked my mother which of both tuning machines is better looking. God, these were nice times. As good as Need for Speed: Most Wanted was, I still prefer Underground 2’s car customizations which have been done in such details and provided so many options that I currently can’t recall another game in which this is even closely possible.

 

Now thinking about this game I am really eager to give it another try. Oh, and it was the reason I fell in love with Audi A3. I am not a driver myself and still have neither a driving license not a car but if someday I do, I wish it is an Audi A3. Honestly, this car is really something very special for me and still when I see on the street it brings back memories.

 

To be continued…

 

Part 1

Part 3

This entry was posted in PC games and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Games, which bring memories 2

  1. John Simmons says:

    Will you believe it, I only played two of the games you’ve mentioned so far – Operation Wolfenstein from Part 1 and StarCraft from Part 2. You should try SC2 – it’s a great game and you might even get to see some familiar faces on there from time to time. The multi-player is just as good as it ever was, or better. There’s an expansion due out in two weeks!

    • Longbraz says:

      I haven’t played a strategy game since years, John, and I feel I will be pretty bad at it. In order to enjoy the story I really should get SC1 and Broodwar, than SC2 and the upcoming expansion. Alone, it sounds to cost a fortune (having in mind Blizzard’s pricings). Which brings me to the next point regarding multiplayer, where I will be a weak opponent, which to start with, doesn’t sound pretty enjoyable, as I will be most likely constantly losing.

      May be I will just check SC’s wiki if there is one just to read about the story and its lore, which I don’t doubt would be quite good as a game made by Blizzard (ok, I am not counting Diablo 3!)

  2. Pingback: Games, which bring memories 3 | Grown Men Playing Games

  3. Pingback: Games, which bring memories 1 | Grown Men Playing Games

Leave a Reply

